Arthur Slade


Bio

Arthur Slade was raised on a ranch in the Cypress Hills of Saskatchewan. He is the author of nineteen novels including Flickers, Amber Fang, and Dust, winner of the Governor General’s Award. He lives in Saskatoon, Canada and does all of his writing on a treadmill desk while listening to heavy metal. Really. It's true. Visit him online at www.arthurslade.com.

Free Book Giveaways


Tribes Arthur Slade

A famous father. A brilliant mind. Can he survive grad week? Percy's father, a famous anthropologist, died in Africa four years ago; and Percy has taken on his father's eyes to see the world as a brilliant Observer. He and his friend Elissa are fascinated by the ritualistic world called Grade Twelve: the Jock tribe; the Teacher tribe; the Born Again tribe; the Cool and Detached tribe; the Lipstick/Hairspray tribe, not to mention Mr. Verplaz, the Shaman. For Percy it's crucial to withdraw, analyze, and remain above it all. But wait--he's studying real people, who complicate things. Like Elissa, the only person who can come close to him, maybe too close. The only person who knows how painful it was last year when their best friend Willard died.

Claim


Megiddo's Shadow Arthur Slade

Fueled by anger at the death of his brother in World War I, sixteen year old Edward enlists and abandons his father and their farm in Canada for England. After proving that he can tame any wild horse, he's sent to Palestine to battle the Turks. A trooper's horse is the key to life and death in a cavalry charge: luckily, Edward has the extraordinary Buke, his true companion. He also has tender letters from Emily, a nurse, and the camaraderie of his tent mates. As he closes in on the enemy, Edward finds that the noble vengeance he seeks is replaced by the horror of battle and the realization that he must fight not only to survive, but also, to kill. "...it is a powerful book that needs to be read." School Library Journal, Starred Review

Claim


Modo: Mission Clockwork #2 (The Dark Deeps) Arthur Slade

The second book in the bestselling series! Each novel is a stand alone story. Fantastical adventure for fans of James Bond, Sherlock Holmes, and Jules Verne... Transforming his appearance and stealing secret documents from the French is all in a day’s work for fourteen-year-old Modo, a British secret agent. But his latest mission—to uncover the underwater mystery of something called the Ictíneo—seems impossible. There are rumors of a sea monster and a fish as big as a ship. French spies are after it, and Mr. Socrates, Modo’s master, wants to find it first. Modo and his fellow secret agent, Octavia, begin their mission in New York City, then take a steamship across the North Atlantic. During the voyage, Modo uncovers an astounding secret.

Claim


Modo: Mission Clockwork 1 Hyde's Children Arthur Slade

A shape-shifting secret agent. A merciless enemy with a metal hand. The Victorian Empire got more than it bargained for. Start the adventure today! Modo is a young hunchbacked spy, raised by a British Lord to be the ultimate secret agent. Not only is he strong and fast, but he has a special ability: he can change his shape and look like other people. Alas, he can only hold this shape for a few hours. When he teams up with the beautiful agent Octavia, he hides his ugliness from her. Modo worries he can’t keep his looks hidden forever. Even more worrisome is the fact children are disappearing off London’s streets. Then the War Secretary is murdered by his own son. It’s clear a secret organization has Britain in its sights. But their final attack is far more devious and destructive than any

Claim


Flickers Arthur Slade

It all begins with a scream… Isabelle and Beatrice live a glamorous lifestyle in 1920s’ Hollywood. As orphaned twins, they’re the wards of Mr. Cecil, a mysterious and influential movie director who tightly controls every aspect of their lives. He turns beautiful Isabelle into a popular silent film star. With the advent of “talkies” he takes great pride in his latest effort: a horror flick that will showcase the actual sound of Isabelle’s already famous scream. Throughout these same years Beatrice, disfigured by birthmarks and baldness, is forced to cover her face and spend her days hidden on Mr. Cecil’s estate, away from prying eyes and photographers. Curious and clever, Beatrice has nothing but time to explore forbidden parts of the property. The mysterious appearance of scorpion horn

Claim


Modo: Mission Clockwork #2 (The Dark Deeps) Arthur Slade

The second book in the bestselling series! Each novel is a stand alone story. Fantastical adventure for fans of James Bond, Sherlock Holmes, and Jules Verne... Transforming his appearance and stealing secret documents from the French is all in a day’s work for fourteen-year-old Modo, a British secret agent. But his latest mission—to uncover the underwater mystery of something called the Ictíneo—seems impossible. There are rumors of a sea monster and a fish as big as a ship. French spies are after it, and Mr. Socrates, Modo’s master, wants to find it first. Modo and his fellow secret agent, Octavia, begin their mission in New York City, then take a steamship across the North Atlantic. During the voyage, Modo uncovers an astounding secret.

Claim


Dust Preview Arthur Slade

"Read the riveting first chapter of Dust and you're already past the point of no return. Arthur Slade writes with the art and grace of a hypnotist, and you won't be able to put this book down. It's sensational!" - Kenneth Oppel, New York Times bestselling author of AIRBORN and THE BOUNDLESS. "Well-chosen imagery, skillfully crafted sentences, and a remarkably effective sense of atmosphere distinguish Slade's work." - Kirkus reviews, Starred "This beautifully written novel features strong character development, an authentic setting, and some genuinely spooky moments." - Voice of Youth Advocates, Starred

Claim


Modo: Mission Clockwork 1 Hyde's Children Arthur Slade

A shape-shifting secret agent. A merciless enemy with a metal hand. The Victorian Empire got more than it bargained for. Start the adventure today! Modo is a young hunchbacked spy, raised by a British Lord to be the ultimate secret agent. Not only is he strong and fast, but he has a special ability: he can change his shape and look like other people. Alas, he can only hold this shape for a few hours. When he teams up with the beautiful agent Octavia, he hides his ugliness from her. Modo worries he can’t keep his looks hidden forever. Even more worrisome is the fact children are disappearing off London’s streets. Then the War Secretary is murdered by his own son. It’s clear a secret organization has Britain in its sights. But their final attack is far more devious and destructive than any

Claim


Amber Fang (preview) Arthur Slade

An excerpt of AMBER FANG Librarian. Assassin. Vampire. Amber Fang enjoys life's simple pleasures - a good book, a glass of wine and, of course, a great meal. Raised to eat ethically, Amber dines only on delicious, cold-blooded killers. But being sure they’re actually killers takes time… research… patience. It’s a good thing Amber’s a librarian. Her extraordinary skills help her hunt down her prey, seek out other vampires, and stay on the trail of her mother, missing now for two years. One day she stalks a rather tasty-looking murderer and things get messy. Very messy. Amber, the hunter, becomes the hunted. And then, from out of nowhere, the perfect job offer: Assassin. She’d be paid to eat the world’s worst butchers. How ideal. Until it isn’t.

Claim


Shades Arthur Slade

An eclectic collection of spine-tingling, gut-churning, irreverent, dark, fantastical, and sometimes downright hilarious short stories by the Edgar-nominated author of DUST and THE HUNCHBACK ASSIGNMENTS. Slade's writing style has shades of Ray Bradbury, Stephen King, William Gibson, and Ry Cooder. And he has an eye for odd details and macabre situations that is all his own. Stories include: Stubb - a boy named Stubb will prove he's a werewolf one way or another. Virtual Dragon - in the future Kung Fu movies will rule the box office and wars will be fought over the proceeds. Jesus Busts A Bronc - a special appearance by Jesus at a small town rodeo. A miracle? And what is Judas doing there? ...

Claim